God is moving remedy

Last night I had a big announcement to make regarding the future of remedy church. With much excitement and emotion I stood in front of the people who have made remedy their home and poured out my heart to them. You see, when you have given yourself to the mission of making Jesus known through a church plant, you become very attached to it.

So I’m sure by now you really just want to know what I announced…..

We are getting a new building! We are going to be partnering with River City Church and subleasing a new space that will accommodate a great future for remedy church! How the whole thing came about is really a long story but I can assure you this, it has God’s fingerprints all over it! Much prayer and fasting have gone into this and now we are seeing the fruit of it. So hear some specifics of the new building space.

* Location: 1900 West Broadway next to Mismo Gymnastics
* going from a 50 seat capacity to over 250 seats
* going from one unusable nursery space to three separated classrooms
* going from a sub level location to a ground-level location with more visibility
* a fully renovated space with a great stage, lighting, kids check in area and sound booth
* a fully functioning kitchen space (think future coffee stand and such!)
* by Gods grace, our rent will stay the same throughout our new one-year lease!
* a great relationship with the church we are subleasing from (we are both church planters)

In our short three-year history as a church, this is yet another one of the evidences of God’s grace! I have seen several churches shut down within this three year time period. Some for the reason of finances, others for the reason of losing heart. And I often wonder, if they had just endured. If they had just continued going hard, what might the Lord have had done with and through them? I say this not out of pride, but out of a longing in my heart for God to move mightily in my city. And I say this with much thankfulness as God has seen fit to allow remedy church to move forward in the mission of making Jesus known.

I leave you with two verses that have highly encouraged me during the last three years of ups and downs as a church planter. These verses having encouraged me through times of wanting to give up, throw in the towel, and just plain be done with it all.

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. Galatians 6:9

And

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ Matthew 25:21

So if you’re a church planter, don’t give up! If you’re engaging in something that is difficult and the end is not in sight, don’t give up! If you are in a tough marriage, don’t give up! So honor God, be faithful, and don’t lose heart. As you seek to do everything for His glory and not just your comfort, you will be amazed at how the Lord will provide for you. Press on and press in! The future is only a day away.

About this entry