Faithless

I was reading this morning in 2 Timothy 2 and realized something that I think is of great importance. Sometimes we read verses like the one I came across this morning and only focus on one side of the meaning. The verse I’m talking about is

2 Timothy 2:13 “If we are faithless, He remains faithful; He cannot deny Himself.”

What I usually see when I think on that truth is; When I lack trust in the Lord and in who He is in relation to my circumstances, He will remain faithful in my situation and deliver me. And while that is 100% spot on, it’s not the whole picture. To complete the thought we must not only see God as acting in faithfulness when we lack the faith necessary to accomplish some life task. But that no matter what I ever do, Gods characteristic of being faithful will NEVER change. That Gods very nature is not dependent upon my trust or lack there of. He is just faithful because it is who He is and will always be! What a complete picture! God NEVER changes!

Let His faithfulness and commitment to be ever faithful both comfort you and encourage you today!

About this entry