It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Repentance

Every year at Costco Wholesale you can tell when the holidays are arriving. The furniture moves out and the Christmas deco moves in. It may seem early, but in retail being a few months ahead is the way to stay on top of trends. And the trend now is looking a lot like Christmas!

I love that old tune “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas”. It reminds me of all the wonderful memories I had growing up. The Christmas tree decorating. The unpronounceable names of the best cookies and confections ever tasted. And singing the family Christmas song that is still sang to this day! All these memories are spurred by that simple holiday chorus, “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas”.
Today I changed that song just a bit. Instead of looking a lot like “Christmas”, I changed it to “Repentance”. Why? Well, lets just say that I had to do a little repenting today after work for a poor attitude on my part. As I was leaving work I kept humming that jingle and adding “Repentance” at the end and it made me realize that God was telling me that what lies ahead in my personal season is repentance. So I took the opportunity to do just that. But I didn’t just do it alone in my personal time with God. I did it at family prayer time.
You see repentance in front of others, especially those who you have an impact on, can cultivate a lifestyle of repentance. And that is a healthy lifestyle to live. So when my children hear me ask God to forgive me for whatever lame action I took part in, it cultivates in their lives a pattern of living. They see that Dad isn’t perfect, but God the Father is! And He ALONE can forgive sin. I pray that as God grants me the humility to repent for lameness, my family and those around me are motivated to enjoy Gods grace and love through the act of heart-felt repentance.
And as I sing, by Gods grace, my tune will be, “It’s beginning to look a lot like repentance”.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” — 1 John 1:9

About this entry