Free Cleansing


I love things that are free. Most of the time the item at large is either gimmicky or tied to another offer. Like buy one get one FREE. But every once in a while you find someone advertising a truly FREE product. For me, a car wash was one of those rarities.

This car wash wasn’t just any old car wash. It was one of those super high-tech, touch-less ones that gives you the works. Even the shell of the building you drive through for the cleansing is made of glass so others can see the thorough job it does. And as usual you have the crew at the end of the wash towel drying your vehicle in order to get a tip.
So as I placed my dirty, filthy car in neutral and allowed the mechanism to pull me into the several different stations of cleansing it dawned on me that this is exactly how Christ deals with humans. You see as I was driving past the car wash I noticed a sign that announced “Free Wash”. So I responded to it and turned from the direction I was going in the direction of the free wash. Then receiving the free pass I drove up and let the cleansing begin as each layer of dirt was stripped away.
God has given the world an invitation to a free eternal wash by the death and resurrection of Christ. All I had to do was respond to the invitation by turning from the direction I was going and receiving the free wash (salvation). I didn’t go and pre-rinse my car or clean it up a little first. I came with it totally filthy. And my vehicle was washed and cleaned! All for free!
Even better is the fact that this spiritual cleansing is free for any one, any time, any place. Not only that, but after the initial clean up is done we can come back daily to get touch ups. Because our “vehicle” gets dirty far more often than we would like.
1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. NKJV

About this entry